I started my first official 31 Day Habit Challenge on January 1st, 2018 – with the intention of incorporating positive daily habits into my life – 31 day at a time. As an attempt to start out slowly and simply my first personal challenge – Teeth – involves brushing my teeth every night before bed. Yes, I know – awe-inspiring stuff here – but it is something I needed to do for myself.

SO, I find myself half way through the month and actually quite surprised at what adding one positive habit into my life has accomplished. The actual act of brushing my teeth every night before bed – is extremely easy to accomplish. I have only had 2 nights where I settled down into bed before realizing I’d forgotten to do said brushing, BUT I DID get out of the cozy bed and brush my teeth. So at least I haven’t broken my own challenge!

YET, it isn’t the act of brushing my teeth which has made me so excited. Instead I am amazed at the internal/emotional changes I have felt because of adding one simple positive element to my day. Rather unintentionally I find myself in a better mindset, a more positive mindset about my future. I find myself also incorporating other little positive habits into my life almost unconsciously just for the enjoyment of it. Applying moisturizer after a shower, getting out of my pajamas during the day (oh the bane of the work-from-home parent), drinking more water during the day, not snacking at night – and the list just starts getting bigger.

As I haven’t made any of these part of my personal challenge – yet, anyways – I don’t feel any pressure if I miss a day (or, more likely decide to enjoy another piece of homemade pie before bed – as long as I remember to brush my teeth afterwards.) It actually feels great to incorporate positive elements into my day. Another reason these habits are so positive are their complete lack of expectation on other people in my household. My happiness is not dependent on their ability or inability to incorporate these habits into their daily routine. Yet, it must have a positive impact on their lives due to my current mood and mindset.

So far this 31 Day Habit Challenge has been a win-win situation. I’m looking forward to incorporating my next habit at the end of January – now I just need to figure out which one that will be! Hope you are all enjoying your challenges as well! I would love to hear about them!pexels-photo-208165.jpeg

3 thoughts on “31 Day Habit Challenge #1 – UPDATE

Leave a comment